A New Year

My life is pretty easy, if I think about it. Things are simple. I don’t have a lot of responsibilities or expenses. So I figured it was time to put a stop to all that, and go back to school.

I’ve been having a career identity crisis in recent years. What am I? A comedian who doesn’t perform much. An actor who works mostly as an extra, and books a “real” part maybe once a year. A banquet server who’s getting tired of this shit. A writer who never writes anything. During the height of the pandemic I worked at COVID vaccination clinic, which felt like I was making a difference in the world. But I’m glad it’s a job that isn’t needed anymore.

The TV and movie jobs are my favourite ones, but it’s feast or famine with them. Sometimes there are big fat money months, but most times there aren’t. Auditioning is like constantly applying for one-day jobs. Even if I get it, I need another one. After the industry came back from the pandemic, the writers’ and actors’ unions went on strike. There’s a lot of stuff out there beyond my control.

With my assortment of part-time and seasonal gigs, I’m earning the same income as I did 15 years ago. Lucky that my rent is in a similar time warp, but that can change at any time. I can’t afford to move if I had to. My money situation won’t change if I just keep doing what I’m doing.

Every once in a while, I think: “Screw it, I’ll just go back to my old job of graphic designer.” When I quit in 2009, I took comfort in knowing I could always fall back on it if showbiz didn’t work out. I did the occasional freelance project since then, but the reality is I’ve been out of the industry for more than 14 years. My resumé, skills, portfolio, etc, are old and dusty. A lot of the things I used to know and do are obsolete. It’s time for a refresh.

So as of TOMORROW I’m starting a two-year diploma in Multimedia Design! It will cover web & mobile app design, interactive stuff, video/audio editing — you know, things we do in the 21st century. It feels very adult to start the new school year in January, unlike those September kids 😁 Speaking of kids, I could easily be twice the age of my classmates. A decade older than the instructors. I’m going to have to stop myself from saying things like: “Back in MY day, we registered for classes over the phone… using a landline… in the 1900s!”

I’m a bit nervous about abruptly taking on a full-time course load, but also excited about having a school do-over. And kind of surprised to be doing this in the first place. Most of my university friends went on to get more degrees, but I was one and done. “See you in hell, school! I’m never learning anything ever again! So long, suckerrrrrrs!” And now I’m the 45-year old heading back to campus.

I loved my time at university the first time around; the whole life experience of being away from home for the first time. I’m glad I got to live in Rez and make friends and commit foolishness. But this time I only care about the learning. This school doesn’t even have a campus pub! I feel bad for today’s kids.

TL;DR (as the kids say): Feeling stagnant in my current work life, and ready to shake things up. Unlike regular New Year’s bullshit, this year will really be the start of something new for me 🥳

Leave a comment